Gallery2 logo

Gallery2 is an art gallery that showcases many different kinds of art from pottery to homemade cards. It also has a gift shop where you can purchase some homemade art. The gallery is located at 43 N Main St, Alfred, New York 14802. You can visit their Facebook page or call them at (607) 587-9144.

Untitled-1.jpg

For this logo, I wanted to find a way to incorporate the “G” ant the “2” together. As you can see, the both of the “2” is fused with the “G.” I wanted a simple design so it could be easily scaled. Wether it’s on a t-shirt, or on an app. By tracing sketches using Illustrator, I was able to make the precise shapes I wanted for this logo.

For the color pallet, I chose to use two colors that contrasted with each other. On their Facebook page and website, they have a dark grey color as their profile picture. For a gallery, I thought it looked a little harsh for a gallery. So I chose a blue with a grey tone. To contrast with this color, I chose red. The red makes it stand out from the blue. If looked at carefully, I used two reds for the “2.” the top half is a bit of a lighter and brighter shade of red than the bottom half. This is to give the logo a little more depth, to not make the logo look too flat.

Before

Screen Shot 2017-02-26 at 8.17.54 PM.png

After

Screen Shot 2017-02-26 at 8.17.54 PM.jpg

Design Process

Untitled-1.jpg

As you can see, this is the same logo but with only one color. After reflecting this version, the “G” looked too much like a “C” without the contrasting color added. It also does not have any dimension to it compared to the final logo.

Untitled-2.jpg

For this logo design, I had the same concept of combining the “g” and the “2” together. I ended up not using this logo because the “g” looked too much like the “g” from Google.

IMG_2256.JPG

These are the sketches I did for this logo design. As you can see, I did many different variations of the concept of combining the “G” and the “2.” experimenting with stroke and negative space.

This entry was posted in Logo Design, Non-timebased, Sketches, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

