Comic “Brith In The Dawn”

 

colorcomic

Above is the final colored version of the five panel comic.

The mediums used for this spread are: graphite pencil, watercolor, colored pencil, and micron pens. The culture of the creation story I chose is Hawaiian. I felt I could get a lot more bright colors and textures coloring it by hand compared to coloring it in photoshop. I first sketched out the layout with mechanical pencil. I then used watercolor as base colors.  To ad texture and depth, I used Prisma colored pencils on top of that.

 

http://www.gly.uga.edu/railsback/CS/CSHawaii.html

Here is a link to the “Birth in the Dawn” creation story.

 

b:wcomic

Above is the black and white final version of the comic. To create depth, I tried to vary the line weights. Elements that are closer too the front have heavier line weights than the elements I wanted to be farther away from the viewer have lighter line weights.

 

BookScanStation-2017-04-24-04-36-55-PM

Above is the sketch of the comic. Since My creation story is about how the ocean was made, I wanted things to really flow together. I did this by having certain panels overflow into other panels (the sting ray and the octopus).

 

Write Up

Making this comic was really fun for me. I was a bit skeptical about this project at first. I have never done anything like this before so the whole process was all very new to me. I chose this section of the story because I have always loved the water, and marine animals since I was little. So with this story, It just reminded me of my old passions.

I feel like my strengths for this project were the final steps of inking and coloring it. I feel like I have a good sense of what textures and colors go together and how to make depth. My main weakness for this project was time management. I need to work on my time management for projects and time myself, and keep documentation on how long I work on things. Over all I learned a lot from this project.

 

works cited

“Birth in the Dawn.” Creation Stories. Chicago, University of Chicago Press, July 2000. Web. 25 Apr. 2017.

 

This entry was posted in Comic, Creation Story, Non-timebased and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

