Portrait

IMG_2419.jpg

After

IMG_2419

Before

img_2385-2.jpg

For this portrait, I first made a photo of me black and white using photoshop. I then used a projector to project it onto bristol paper and traced it. The mediums used were pastel and graphite. I used a smudging tool for the shading and to make the texture smooth. I then brought it into Photoshop and adjusted some of the shading.

I wanted this portrait to reflect my personality. I am a quiet person if I don’t know you that well, but once you get to know me I am pretty out going and am a fun person to be around. I feel like the pose and the expression on my face shows this.

I have done portraits in the past, but I’ve never done a final portrait of myself. I thought the process of shading it was interesting. I really got to know the materials and learn more of how they work and how they treat on different surfaces.

The most challenging part of this project for me was the shading on the right side. I was timed on shading this sections because I didn’t want it to be too dark. My strengths in this portrait the shading in my hair. I think I really captured the folds in my hair and how the light hits it.

This entry was posted in Non-timebased, portrait and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

